Endurance Brasil: every make and model of P4 prototypes

In the first seasons of Endurance Brasil it was common to see the participation of P4 prototypes, models equipped with a 4-cylinder, 8-valve engines (usually from Volkswagen) and generally with manual transmissions derived from production cars, which served as a gateway for drivers who wish to go beyond cars. of tourism. Initially, models of this configuration competed in the P3 class, but it was “demoted” in numbering with the separation of P1 prototypes into classes P1, for more modern prototypes with DRS, and P2 for older prototypes without DRS. For catalog purposes, in our list we will consider the prototypes classified as P3 until 2018 and the P4 prototypes from the 2019 season in this list.

Aldee Racing Coupé Fibra

After the success of the outstanding Aldee Coupé Street/Racing in the Mil Milhas in 1990 with victory in class B and fifth position in the general classification, Aldee (Almir Donato Equipamentos Esportivos) developed the Racing Coupé Fibra model, which maintained a very similar fairing, but it abandoned the platform of the first generation VW Gol in favor of its own tubular chassis, more suitable for automobile competitions. Launched in 1991, this configuration of the Aldee Coupê was last present at Endurance Brasil in the 4 Hours of Curitiba, the opening race of the 2018 season, driven by the duo Admir and Diego Pardo.

Aldee Racing Coupê RTT

From 1993 onwards, Aldee Coupê prototypes began to have the engine/transmission assembly mounted at the rear, giving rise to the RTT model (Rear Transversal Transmission). In this configuration, the prototype won several important victories in motorsport and was a constant figure in the initial seasons of Endurance Brasil. To this day, Aldee RTTs are still present and active in the most diverse categories, such as Gaúcho Endurance, Gaúcho Super Turismo, Mil Milhas and are also common in classic car competitions such as the Gold Classic and Competition Classics.

Aldee Spyder Gen 1

Developed in 1996, the Aldee Coupé was born as a natural evolution of the Aldee Coupé. Now in the form of an open two-seater with a mid-engine, the Spyder soon became a hit on the tracks due to its simple mechanics (combination of Volkswagen AP engine and VW longitudinal transmission). Success was not long in coming, with victories in the main Brazilian motorsport events such as Mil Milhas (1999), 500 Milhas de Londrina (1999) and 12 Horas de Tarumã (2000). At Endurance Brasil, the first generation of the Spyder was present in the initial seasons, driven by Walter Konrad and Igor Eberle.

MC Tubarão VIII

Developed on the basis of an MCR prototype chassis, Tubarão VIII marked another step in the extensive lineage of prototypes developed by the MC Tubarão team from Rio Grande do Sul. Equipped with an Audi 4 cylinder Turbo engine, the prototype secured a second championship in the Gaúcho Endurance Championship and the 12 Hours of Tarumã in 2010/2011 for the Campo Bom team, until it was succeeded by the Tubarão IX in 2012. Eventually, the model gained a second life when receive the Volkswagen AP 8V engine, dominating the 2015, 2016 and 2017 seasons of Endurance Brasil in the then P3 class, with 12 victories in 18 races, in addition to the titles of Franco Pasquale (2015) and the duo Júlio Martini and Marcelo Vianna (2016 and 2017). Furthermore, Tubarão VIII was the protagonist of a David vs Goliath moment, when piloted by Franco Pasquale he won in the general classification the rainy Rivera race in 2015, ending with 75% of the distance covered.

Metalmoro MCR

Designed in 1999 by Luiz Fernando Cruz in partnership with Ademir Moro, the MCR (Moro Cruz Racing) debuted on the tracks by winning the 12 Hours of Tarumã, and achieving several other victories along the way, including 6 more editions of the 12 Hours of Tarumã and three Brascar titles. Furthermore, it was exported to England, where it gave rise to the British MCR, which dominates the Sport 2000 category. Even with the arrival of the modern MRX, MCRs continue to be present in the most diverse Brazilian motorsport events. In Endurance Brasil, the MCR #96 of the Satti Racing team competed with Volkswagen AP engines with moderate success between the 2015 and 2017 seasons.

Metalmoro MRX

launched in 2009 as a successor to the victorious MCR, the MRX prototype marked the evolution of Metalmoro prototypes, after 10 years of important victories. Already at its debut, the new car won victories in the four most important Brazilian endurance races: 12 Hours of Tarumã in (2009, 2012 and 2013), 500 km of São Paulo (2013, 2016, 2020, 2021 and 2023), 500 Miles of Londrina (2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021) and 1,000 Miles of Brazil (2021). Also at Endurance Brasil, the MRX prototypes were a force, winning victories and championships in the P2, P3 and P4 classes. In fact, the last champions of the P4 class were Rafael Simon and Gustavo Simon aboard an MRX, in 2019.

PW1 Spyder Gen 2

In 2002, race driver Peter William Januário took over the production of Spyder prototypes, now under his PW1 brand. At the same time, the Spyder received a profound update with the radiator moving to the side of the cockpit and a new aerodynamic configuration. Once again, the Spyder proved to be a force in Brazilian motorsports, reaching the point of having a single-brand category in the Campeonato Paulista de Automobilismo, the Spyder Race. At Endurance Brasil, second-generation Spyders were always present, being represented by several teams and mainly by the Londrina based LT Team in the 2018 and 2019 seasons.

PW1 Spyder Gen 3

The third generation of the Spyder prototype was launched in 2010, also marking the Spyder Race’s transition from state to national championship. The new bodywork, with more angular lines aimed to improve the aerodynamic performance of the prototypes. With the end of the single-brand category, the “Gen 3” Spyders soon began to be used in regional championships, both in sprint and endurance races, and found a home in the Endurance Gaúcho, being one of the forces in the P4 class. The last participation of a P4 prototype in Endurance Brasil, in fact, was a third generation Spyder, from the Bonora Racing team in the 6 Hours of Curitiba 2019, the closing round of Endurance Brasil.

SP Mec 1R

Developed by SP Mec, a team led by Carlos Doninha, the 1R prototype debuted in the 2015 season driven by Jeferson Leandrini. Several units of the prototype were built, being driven by names such as Emílio Padrón, Henrique Assunção, Mallaco Maam and Leonardo Mallaco, becoming the biggest opposition to Tubarão VIII between the 2015 and 2017 seasons. The prototype achieved 4 class wins in the then P3 class, and to this day it is a strong competitor in its class in events such as 1,000 Miles, 500 km of São Paulo and the Road to 1,000 Miles.

All the Champions

All the race winners

Aproveito para deixar uma nota de agradecimento ao trabalho do Niltão Amaral do Blog do Passatão, que manteve os registros dos resultados das temporadas iniciais do Endurance Brasil, e também à página Racecarpress cujos registros das histórias e lançamentos dos protótipos dos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *